At least I am not the only one not ready…

25 07 2008

Thankfully, I won’t need to get a visa. My credential acts as a visa for entry into the country. I still needed to make a trip to the Chinese consulate in NY. My colleague and I need to register the camera gear so that we can get through customs when we land in Beijing. We went in today, and what a pain in the ass. After waiting in line in the visa hall, we were told that we need to apply for a visa. Of course, they were wrong. So they sent us to line #1, which is 30 people long. There is a lot of yelling and arguing in chinese at the front of the line. After we realized that was not where we needed to go, we found our way to a different entrance. To get in that door there was a phone. And a phone directory. Written in chinese. I guess we looked clueless enough in the security camera, because a nice man came out to help us. Long story short, after waiting in a room for over 2 hours that was clearly being monitored (they were watching us) they finally told us we’d have to come back. Maybe next week. So, in the mean time, as I anxiously await the call, check out this video. I’m leaving the swimming trunks home…

