I’m not even supposed to be here today!

16 08 2008

Michael Phelps won his 7th gold medal today, which was no surprise. He was
in 7th place halfway though, which clearly was a huge surprise. It was the
closest finish I have ever seen. But I had no clue how close. I was at the
other end of the pool, so I saw him on the first half of the race, but I
couldn’t see anyone else through the lens. After the turn, I watched over
the lens and saw it was close. His reaction was just awesome. I was in a
good spot for the shot.

I wasn’t even supposed to be at the pool today.

It was andy’s turn for swimming, but something came up, and he ended up
flying to Shanghai with our reporter to shoot women’s soccer and then to
Qingdao to shoot a local girl in the sailing competition.
So I went, knowing that I could only stay for his race, then I had to run
across the way to track and field to get a woman from Iraq in the prelims.

Annette and Steve did a great job with the sports page.

Tonight, I am shooting the men’s 100m final. It’s basically the biggest race
of the games. I was at the track 8 hours before the race to set up a couple
remote cameras.

This one fired before the event, but not during.

Thankfully, this one fired. Especially since the camera in my hand bounced the focus.

