Hmm, what should I have for lunch…

18 08 2008

Finally got 8 hours of sleep.

Woke up about 11am. Could have slept 4 more hours. We walked across the
street for lunch. After a look at the menu, with things on it like fried
donkey meat, stewed yak with flavoring, and my favorite, steamed balls, we
decided to pass. I was concerned that we didn’t know who’s or what’s balls
they were steaming. More importantly, we weren’t going to find out.

Went to another place, food was great. Moment of hilarity, trying to order a
diet coke, or coke light as they call it here. The waitress spoke very little
english. She kept pointing at the bottle, I swear she kept saying “Yao
Ming?” which I guess was her way of making sure we wanted the big bottle of
coke. Needless to say after a couple minutes of this, we opened the coke and
moved on.

It’s about 6pm as I write this, and I haven’t done a damn thing! Trying to
plan out the next couple days. Tonight I am going to the men’s table tennis
team finals. Apparently, China playing for the gold in their sport on their
home turf is not compelling enough for one of our writers to leave track and
field for a night. Oh well.

Here are my 5 favorite pix.