Wet.

21 08 2008

Today, I went to the women’s beach volleyball gold medal game. USA vs China.
I knew it was supposed to rain. It pretty much poured the entire match. Of
course, I forgot my rain gear for the cameras, but I had enough plastic to
get by. Besides, it was all loaner gear! I had a rain jacket, but I rained
so much, it didn’t matter.

I was so wet, I don’t think there was a part on my body that isn’t still
moist.

The match ended 4 hours ago.

My poor photo vest, which I am required to wear when shooting, is pretty
wet. I came back to the super 8 with hope that there’d be a clothes dryer,
but alas, the nice young man behind the counter said something like “sorry
sir, you must wear wet clothes.”

I made a trip to the local WuMart and picked up a fan, which is currently
hopefully drying my vest. I have to shoot track tonight, which is outdoors.
It’s supposed to rain tonight.

Of course, my shoes are soaked, too. So much for goretex, but I guess when
you step in puddles that are 6 inches deep, there’s not much you can do.

I saw Politi after the match, he didn’t have a drop on him, which means that
wuss probably didn’t leave the press room.

The good news, it finally stopped raining.

Just as I got on the bus to leave.